Letters

I’ve been going through old emails lately. Reminiscing. Reminding myself of the hell I’ve been through and the miracles I’ve been blessed to receive. I’ve been rehearsing the faithfulness of the One who walked with me through the fire and brought me to the other side; becoming so much more aware of who God is and what He is all about. Reflecting on the past and becoming more and more convinced that God truly is able to orchestrate everything to work toward something good and beautiful when we love Him and accept His invitation to live according to His plan. The letters I’m about to share with you are from October of 2008. Just 9 months after my son was born, only 8 months after his release from the NICU and 5 short months after he was taken off of oxygen for good.

I wrote this email to a woman I didn’t know at the Holy Spirit’s prompting after receiving a mass email from my aunt (her acquaintance) asking for prayer for her son. I wasn’t comfortable doing what I did but there was a tugging at my heart that wouldn’t quit and so I wrote:

Jennifer,

I know that you do not know me but I am a friend, of a friend, of a friend.  I was asked to pray for your son.  I believe that God has put this prayer request in my life because I was in a similar situation less than a year ago.  I would like to give you some encouragement; and reassure you that our God is a God of miracles and healing.

While pregnant with my son Connor, we found out that he had a cyst in his lung tissue.  The cyst was displacing his heart and causing him to swell.  I was only twenty four weeks pregnant and the doctors told me that there was a very slim chance that he would survive.  From that point on I knew that I had a battle to fight.  The enemy was satan and I was fighting for my son’s life.  I spent six weeks on bed rest and underwent multiple procedures.  Everyday the battle seemed to become more intense and I was completely exhausted.  There were times when I argued with God, pleaded with him to make it all go away.  I told him that it wasn’t fair, I was not strong, I could not handle this.  God continued to work on me; he gave me patience and hope.  God was my only source of comfort and strength throughout that dark time.

Connor was born January 9, 2008.  I was told that he would not cry because he would not be able to breathe on his own, Connor cried.  Less than an hour after Connor was born my husband and I had to consent to emergency surgery to remove the cyst that was displacing his heart and good lung tissue.  The surgeon told us that it was a risky procedure and she was not sure if he would make it but that she would try her best.  A short time after she left with consent papers she came back into my room and told us that she was not sure why but that “they cyst disappeared and Connor is stable”.  My family and I continued to stand on faith and I was adamant that Connor would not need lung surgery, that God would heal him without the help of doctors or medicine.  I could not see the plan that God had for Connor, I was praying for my will to be done and not God’s.  My pastor came to the hospital the night before Connor was to have lung surgery and prayed over him.  He told me that sometimes God works through man, and that it was ok if Connor needed surgery…it was still God that would heal him.

The next morning Connor had lung surgery, they removed 3/4ths of his right lung.  We were told that he would be on oxygen for the first year of his life and that “he would not be a marathon runner, but he could still be an upstanding citizen”.  None of the doctors or surgeons thought that Connor would have two full lungs someday.  I KNEW that he WOULD.  When he was not even four months old Connor was taken off of oxygen because his lung was expanding.

Today Connor is a healthy, happy, amazing baby.   He has TWO FULL lungs and you would never know that he was six weeks early, underwent major surgery, and spent a month in the NICU.

God walked through the fire with my family and me, he held my son in his arms even before he was born.  I just want you to know that my family and I will stand in the gap with you.  Alex will be another manifestation of God’s wonderful miracles.  Just remember to speak faith, to thank God often, and rely on his strength and not your own.

This is Connor’s story:  http://cbs4denver.com/local/baby.lung.surgery.2.630643.html(this link is no longer valid BUT if you are interested in seeing Connor’s story I can upload copy of the story that we received from cbs 4)

P.S. I am so happy to know that you are encouraged by God’s signs of reassurance that you have seen at the hospital.  Things like that happened while I was going through my situation and it was just like God was telling me that He is in control, that He would never leave me.

Please let me know of any other prayer requests that you have, and keep me updated on Alex.  I cannot wait to hear all of the good news!

-Aimie

Jennifer’s response to my initial email:

Hi Aimie,

Oh my goodness…  what a wonderful story about God’s grace and majesty!!  Thank you so much for taking the time to share your special story with us.  As you know, when you are walking through a tough time, you try to have complete faith, but it can be hard (and quite draining at times).  Your story encouraged me, and reminded me how truly wonderful and caring our God is!  It is also through challenging times, that God can be glorified in amazing ways.  Your little baby was an incredible testimony to the doctors (and others) of the healing power of God…even as such a tiny little person, God used him to demonstrate to others His amazing love and power.  I feel the same with the medical situation with our son.  We all know God will use this experience in some incredible way…we just don’t know how yet!  Thanks so much for your prayers, and caring enough to share your story with someone you don’t even know…it really means so much!! As you know, prayers are the best gift you can give people during difficult times, so thank YOU!  🙂

You also asked for me to share prayer requests…
We just found out today that Alex goes in for a CT this Friday to assess the progress of his abscess.  If all looks good, the radiologist will “pull the plug” (drain).  Then, the true test begins.  We are all praying (and asking everyone we know) that they abscess will not return (because of a fistula).  If it does return, Alex will certainly require surgery.  Again, God is great, and we believe the abscess will not return…so, please also join us in prayer specifically for this…

Thanks again, Aimee, and God bless!

Jennifer

My response:

Jennifer,

I am glad that I could encourage you.  I know that God gave us this miracle so that we could share it with others.

I have a couple Bible verses that I want to share with you that really helped me at the time!  I used to sit in the nursery with Connor and anoint him with oil, pray over him, and my husband and I tied a prayer cloth to his crib.  Here are some of the verses we prayed most often:  Psalm 139 (especially verses 13-16), Jeremiah 29:11, Isaiah 40:31, Matthew 7:7, James 5:14, Mark 11:24, Hebrews 11:1, Psalm 30:2, Isaiah 53:4-5, Psalm 91:3-4, and Psalm 121:3-4.  Regarding Psalm 121:3-4, I had such a hard time leaving Connor at the end of the day.  The only thing that gave me comfort was knowing that while I was not with him God was, and God never sleeps.

Continue to stand on faith and I will continue to pray that God strengthens your faith daily.  I am praying the same prayers for Alex, for you, your husband, and your family that I prayed for Connor and for myself, and my family.  Just remember that during this fight you must continue to walk in FAITH and NOT IN SIGHT.  You must call things that are not as though they are.  You must know that all men are liars and that God is the truth.  You must keep close to your heart the fact that in your tongue lies the power of life and death and you MUST SPEAK LIFE.  Everyday, speak life, speak by faith, and call things that are not as though they are.  Praise God often and meditate on his word.  When you find yourself getting full of fear, anger, and sadness you must grab a hold of those thoughts and feelings and cast them aside.  God did not give us a spirit of fear; those awful feelings come from the enemy.  This battle that you are fighting is not only fought in your spirit but also in your mind.  The enemy will try to defeat you through your thoughts, he will try any way he can to break down your spirit and extinguish your faith.

In Jesus name he will not succeed and your faith will only grow stronger with every attack that comes your way.  God has given you every tool necessary to defeat the enemy and through God he will be defeated.

I want you to know that I am praying that no one can touch Alex that God has not ordained to touch him.  When doctors, nurses, surgeons, friends, and family touch Alex it will really be God touching Alex through them.  God is in charge of Alex’s care.  In Jesus name the abscess (not Alex’s abscess) but the evil thing that the enemy has tried to give to your son is gone!  Jesus died for Alex’s sins and he has taken his infirmities from him.  Through Jesus’ healing blood Alex is healthy and made whole.  I pray that Alex only receives things that God wants to give him, and God only wants good for Alex therefore sickness and disease have no place in his body because they are not from God.

While in the hospital I slept with a prayer shawl over my bed, a prayer cloth under my pillow, and praise and worship music was playing constantly.  If you can you should put a small radio with Alex and put KLOVE (91.1) on.  God inhabits the praise of his people.  Also, if you have anointing oil you should anoint the door frame in his room and pray that only God and his angels are allowed to enter.  That if people have anything on them that is not of God then it has to be left at the door and it cannot enter.  Where God is there can be no darkness, and Alex’s room is filled with God’s light.

Thank you for allowing me to share all of this with you.  Please continue to send your prayer requests.  I hope you don’t mind, I have notified all of my “prayer warriors” and we are all praying for your son!

I hope to hear from you again soon and Praise God that this is a blessed day for Alex!

-Aimie

Her response to me:

Hi Aimie,

Wow, much has happened since you last wrote.  Your words have come alive in me in amazing ways over the last several days.  I know realize, in a very big way, God was definitely directing you to share your story of Connor’s healing with us.  I have read and re-read your email and implemented your prayer ideas.  First, we started with the anointing of oil and then fervent prayer with Bible verses.  My parents are here, and we were spending so much time in prayer over Alex, but he still was really having a tough time.  We continued to remain faithful in prayer.  However, as I will explain, I did not fully “get” the premise of your email until this past Sunday…

On Saturday night, I received an email from an old friend in Colorado Springs who I had not heard from in quite some time.  She said she felt compelled to check in with us.  Of course, I filled her in on Alex’s situation and asked for her prayers.  She then, on Sunday morning, emailed me back about a special speaker they were having at their church (New Life) that evening on Healing…she invited all of us to come.  Honestly, as much as I wanted to go, I was just really, really tired and did not want to drive to the Springs.  However, I felt God was prompting us to go, and if I didn’t go, I’d be missing a potential blessing/healing for my son!  So, off we went.  We listened to a pastor by the name of Andrew Womack speak about healing and how we all have healing from Jesus’ death on the cross, and how God wants us WELL….not sick.  He was talking about the EXACT same things you mentioned in your email (speaking LIFE, believing you are healed before doctor’s/tests tell you so, speaking to the specific problem in Jesus name and taking authority over it, etc.).  When I re-read your email later, I totally could see that God used both you and my friend to teach me this new truth (new to me, anyway…I have never heard of it in all my years of being a Christian!!).  Pastor Womack was amazing!  I was weeping, and just KNEW this was our answer, and that Alex was healed Sunday night!  The pastor also prayed over Alex, and it was amazing!  If you are interested, you can watch some videos on his website: (http://www.awmi.net/tv/2008/week11).  We are continuing to pray over Alex daily for all the specific issues Alex is having, and taking authority over the illness and commanding it to leave.  We are already amazed at the improvements we have seen in Alex!!  Just Monday, we prayed the abscess would shrink-up and shrivel away.  Then, yesterday (not to be graphic) he had an unusually high level of pus fill his bag…it was astounding, really!  Normally, I would have been freaking out thinking something was terribly wrong for this to happen so suddenly, but we continued to pray and praise God for cleaning out that abscess.  Then, today, amazingly, there is virtually nothing coming out of his drain!!  Praise God!!  Additionally, we can tell by cleaning the drain that it seems the abscess has collapsed upon itself!!  We don’t have any “imaging” to know this is true, but we just know this is what is happening!! Now, mind you, we were told (just last week) that this was the largest pediatric abscess this one doc had ever seen, and was the largest Crohn’s abscess she had ever seen (it was the size of Alex’s bladder!  It was actually a miracle that it did not burst long ago…God really is so GOOD!))…this is really not an accomplishment you want in the record books…  Anyway, to have it apparently resolving so quickly is nothing short of a miracle!  Also, Alex’s color looks so much better since Sunday night, he is filled with joy, laughter, and happiness.  He is walking without pain, and his belly (which is almost always very sore) has no pain.  In fact, I saw him pressing on his belly today, and asked if he was hurting.  He looked at me and said, “No, actually, I DON’T have pain, and that is weird…”  Wow!  I could really go on, and I know this is just the beginning of exciting things to come.  So, THANK YOU for sharing the truth about healing and how to pray…  In fact, just 2 days before this whole ordeal began, I received a mysterious text message on my cell phone.  It was from an unfamiliar number that was only ONE number different than MY cell number (so it did look familiar).  The text message said “Those who do not weep, do not see.”  Alex and I recognized this message was from God, but we thought it just had to do with dealing with Crohn’s in general…little did we know what was to begin in just 2 days (the whole abscess ordeal)!  God knew, though, and he sent us that text message to prepare us, sustain us through the ordeal, and give us hope.  I have referred back to that text message several times in my head trying to figure out what God wanted me to “see” through all of this.  Now, I think I am beginning to understand God was directing us to complete healing and that He has already healed us through his SON!!  Amazing, is all I can say….  I do recognize we have quite a road to go yet, but it will be an exciting road, and not a scary one.  Just like your experience with Connor’s healing…we, too, believe in miracles! 🙂

Thank you for being a blessing to me.  Thank you for following God’s prompting to email me.  It is because of your obedience to Him, that we are now beginning to “see”…

Blessings to you,

Jennifer

This is where my email trail ends BUT after her son Alex was HEALED, (yes he was healed!!) she sent me a card and I have copied her words below:

Dear Aimie-

What can I say? Words cannot even begin to express how grateful I am that you followed God’s leading to email us. You have been our “rock” as we have gone through this very difficult time. Your words, faith, and confidence kept us going as we learned this new truth (regarding health and healing) about God. The prayers of you and your family meant the world to all of us. Yesterday, at Alex’s birthday, and this week at Thanksgiving we are so, so thankful Alex is with us! We thank God daily for sparing our son and guiding our steps. You have been part of God’s work and we are truly thankful for you! Have a blessed Thanksgiving with your little miracle boy!

Blessings,

Jennifer

I know that the battle for my son’s life has a purpose far bigger than me and the scars it left both emotionally and physically are there to serve as a reminder of God’s faithfulness. They’re not meant to be forgotten but to memorialize a time in history when my God stepped in and saved me, saved my son, and used our story to save someone else’s son. Only now as I re-read this exchange from years ago am I truly able to see that God was setting the stage for something amazing and beautiful and larger than life. Only now do I look back and see His footprints illuminating every single step I took. I now see that He orchestrated every single detail. He arranged every encounter and ordained every single event. Though I still don’t know exactly where He is leading me I do know that He is leading me. He has a plan for me. He has a purpose for my life. One that was thought out long before I was born; long before Connor got sick. The journey to Connor’s healing was just the beginning; the spark that started the flame. My encounter with Jennifer was the next step, it started the fire. While I know that there are many unknown steps yet to take on the road that lies ahead of me I also know this:  I don’t travel alone; I have a guide and my guide knows the way. The only true way. Therefore, I will go where He leads and listen when He calls and I will continue to take one step at a time and the fire will continue to grow until I reach my destination. The destination that He chose for me. The destination that I now choose for myself.

Leave a Reply

