Celebrating the Holidays with Cancer

It’s a new year and what better way to kick it off than to feature a guest writer! I pray that you’re filled with hope as you read Cameron’s story of his wife Heather’s healing. Remember, with Jesus, anything is possible!!

The best time of the year for me has always been the holidays.  I always enjoy seeing my family and friends, giving thanks for our many blessings, and continuing our family traditions.  After seeing our daughter Lily being born in August of 2005, my wife Heather and I were ecstatic about the holidays. We talked endlessly about continuing certain holiday traditions with Lily and beginning new ones that our family would enjoy for years.  Our planning was quickly put on hold three days before Thanksgiving, when my wife found out that she had cancer. It was hard to handle a 3 ½ month old baby and my wife’s mesothelioma diagnosis at the same time.  I didn’t know much about this form of cancer, but what we learned soon after made me realize that our once bright and hopeful future now looked very uncertain.  I hoped for the best, but all along, I was preparing for the worst. We still came together for Thanksgiving, and we tried our best to celebrate the holiday as usual.  Heather’s family celebrated both Thanksgiving and Christmas with us because we would soon be headed to Boston for Heather’s treatment.  After having our holiday meal, I had to endure the conversation I had been dreading for days.  This conversation consisted of how Heather’s family would be able to help us through this crisis financially.   We discussed all of our finances, which bills Heather’s family would pay for us, and even Lily’s childcare decisions.  Heather and I both had jobs before our daughter was born, but once we started dealing with the mesothelioma, our financial situation worsened.  New expenses that we never imagined were piled on, and we knew we would soon be down to a single income once Heather started treatment.  We were barely making it by as it was, and we would not be able to stay afloat for long.  The discussion left me ashamed and embarrassed, through no one’s fault but my own. I never expected to spend my Thanksgiving this way. After many years, I finally understood what this day really meant to me.  During the time I sat at the table discussing all of my family’s personal information, I felt ashamed and overwhelmed.  When in actuality, I should have noticed the love that I received from my family.  My family did not hesitate to help us in every way that they could.  They were willing to make incredible sacrifices of their own to ensure our well being. I did not see this for many years because I was blinded by pride, but now, years later, I see how very lucky I was.   In addition to helping us through this time, our friends and family also prayed endlessly for Heather’s health.  Heather’s mother, especially, prayed as much as she possibly could, and told Heather that God had told her that this disease would not take her life.  
Despite the odds that said otherwise, we clung to that hope throughout that holiday season and the months of treatment that followed. This holiday season, I realize how thankful I am for my family, friends, healthy daughter, and the chance to continue to make new family traditions.  
Despite the odds, Heather was able to beat her cancer with the help and support of our incredible family and friends. Mesothelioma has not been a part of our lives for over six years, and we’ve been able to enjoy many wonderful Christmases together.  We hope that our story of success against cancer can be a source of hope and inspiration to all those still fighting this holiday season.

To read more by Cameron please visit his website:
http://www.mesothelioma.com/blog/authors/cameron/

Leave a Reply

