Time Out

My Uncle Rusty is in town for a quick Mother’s Day visit. I took the boys to my grandma and grandpa’s house this afternoon to see him; they love Uncle Rusty. As soon as we stepped into the living room the wrestling match began. Watching Connor and Blake fight with Uncle Rusty always reminds me of when I was a little girl at my grandma and grandpa’s house in Illinois. Uncle Rusty has always loved to “beat the kids”. While I looked at Uncle Rusty’s “tickle-torture” much the same way I viewed punishments as a child, my boys see it as fun. Their play time with Uncle Rusty usually involves less crying than mine did; and when they call a “time out”, he actually listens. Go figure!

But all of the wrestling and time out calling today got me thinking. What if I could call “time out” when things get too hard? What if, when I’m not getting my way, I just scream, “time out!!!!!”, and everything suddenly calms down? Maybe I’ll try it…

My grandma passed out today. She’s been feeling a little “off” all day; just a little more tired and has a little more pain than usual. We were all just hanging out in the living room, watching the kids play, and grandma passed out. It was a little surreal.

She had just gone to the restroom and was on her way back to the couch when she stopped and leaned on the wall.

Time out!!

I was sitting in the rocking chair, facing the hallway, when it happened. I saw her stop and slump against the wall. Things are a little blurry, but I remember standing up and starting to walk toward her when I heard my mom say, “Go get her!”. I think I was unsure of what was going on; I didn’t really understand why my grandma was leaning against the wall. But the urgency in my mom’s voice replaced any uncertainty I felt with a sense of urgency and I rushed to help grandma.

Time out!!

I wrapped both arms around grandma and pulled her into me; then I took her down. I remember thinking, “she’s heavier than I thought she would be…I don’t want to drop her. If we fall, I’ll just take the impact; I’ll let her fall on me,”. I think it was about this time that grandma actually lost consciousness. She was like a sack of potatoes.

Time out!!

Thankfully, Paula realized that I needed help getting her safely to the ground and she came to our rescue. Somehow, she sneaked past us and positioned herself behind grandma; making a grandma sandwich, we were able to ease her to the floor by her bedroom. After getting grandma safely to the floor I heard my mom barking out orders, “Turn her on her side! Call 911,”. Then I heard grandpa sobbing as Rusty spoke to the 911 operator; I think the fear and stress just became unbearable and when he saw his wife “go down” he “went down” too.

Time out!!

The next thing I remember was grandma opening her eyes and hearing my kids playing outside. Grandma’s pupils were huge and she looked confused. Her breathing was slow, her speech slurred, and what little energy she had left, was being used in an attempt to minimize the situation and calm grandpa down. She never thinks of herself even when she “comes to” on the floor in her hallway.

My mom, Paula, Haley and I had our hands on grandma as she gained consciousness; we were praying. I’m sure we were all begging God for the same things; for grandma’s healing, grandpa’s peace and for a time out from all of this crap.

The EMTs came and went quickly. Grandma refused to go to the hospital though her blood pressure was low. Grandpa spoke out of fear and had a “freak out”; and the rest of us promised to continue taking care of grandma and it was decided that mom and Paula would spend the night just in case she needed anything. I left grandma’s house to tend to my motherly duties as soon as she was settled on the couch and grandpa was less “on edge”.

But after putting my boys to bed I went back to grandma’s to pray and wish everyone a “good night”. Mom, Paula and I anointed grandma and laid our hands on her as we prayed and spoke in faith for her healing. After our prayers I put grandma and grandpa to bed; just as I put Connor and Blake to bed not long before. As with C and B, I tucked grandma and grandpa in and got them comfortable. As with C and B, I said bed time prayers with grandma and grandpa. As with C and B, I spoke peace and safety over grandma and grandpa and kissed them good night.

Now that the day is over and I’m home in my own bed, I realize I don’t need to call a “time out” when life becomes too stressful and things don’t go my way. Instead, I need to take time out of every situation I’m in and call on my Savior. For He is mighty to save and He will come through always. Tomorrow is a new day. I’m looking forward to the new mercies God will bring.

My family and I believe that grandma is healed. God promised healing and His promise is true. We trust Him and we believe His word regardless of what we see. For we walk by faith and not by sight. We will continue to run this race with endurance just as we have been called to do. We will continue to wait on the Lord and our strength shall be renewed. We will praise God’s holy name because grandma is fearfully and wonderfully made. She will not die, but live and declare the works of God. We will not fear bad news; our hearts are steadfast trusting in God. We will not be afraid, we will stand still and see the deliverance the Lord will bring us.

“My foes are many, they rise against me
But I will hold my ground
I will not fear the war, I will not fear the storm
My help is on the way, my help is on the way
Troubles surround me, chaos abounding
My soul will rest in You
I will not fear the war, I will not fear the storm
My help is on the way, my help is on the way
Oh, my God, He will not delay
My refuge and strength always
I will not fear, His promise is true
My God will come through always, always”
– “Always” by Kristian Stanfield

One thought on “Time Out

Leave a Reply

