A Side Note on Obedience…

“And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart,” Ezekiel 36:26.

First, let me apologize for falling behind in posting scripture and prayers for the 21 day prayer challenge.  I have been extra busy the past couple of days.  But, I am almost finished with days 5 and 6.  I will post them ASAP.  Now, onto the reason for this post.

If you are doing the 21 day prayer challenge or if you have been following my blog you have probably noticed that I have been praying for obedience and submission to authority for my family and for myself.  I have struggled in the past with rebellion and in general I don’t like being submissive.  As I was praying for my sons and husband to submit to God’s authority and the authority in their lives I felt God pulling at my heartstrings.  He was asking me if I am willing and obedient in my own walk with Him and in submission to the authority in my life.  I had to stop and think about the state of my heart and my actions.  Here are some things I reflected on:

  • Do I willingly submit to ALL of God’s commands?
  • Have I given every area of my life over to Him and His will?
  • Do I submit to my husband as the head of my household?
  • Do I show respect to the authority that God has placed in my life?
  • Does my attitude reflect one of willing obedience or rebellion?
  • If I am outwardly obedient do I still harbor negative thoughts and attitudes about the authority in my life?

I realized that God has placed every authority in my life for a reason.  The people over me may not know more than I do or be super spiritual but they were chosen by God to be in charge of me in some aspect of my life.  While I may not agree with God’s decisions (gasp!) or with His thinking or timing I know that He  always has a plan and He loves me.  He wants the absolute best for me and I have to be willing to be broken in spirit by submitting completely to His will in order to be made whole. 

I believe that I have made a heart change and that God has taken my heart of stone and given me a heart of flesh.  I believe that His Spirit is within me and He is helping me to choose His will over my desires.  Just this past Friday (the 4th) I was on my way to pick up Connor from preschool and I got pulled over!  Now, I hadn’t been pulled over in YEARS prior to this incident and I was a little upset and a lot angry.  I didn’t even realize that I was speeding, to be truthful, and I guess I should have been paying better attention but I was in a hurry to get Connor and get back to my grandparents’ house for lunch.  Though I prayed for favor while the officer was running my license I wasn’t given any.  In fact, I received a $100 fine and a 4 point ticket!  After graciously accepting my punishment and going about my way again, I made a conscious effort to not let my emotions get the best of me.  I prayed for God to keep me under control and to see the positive in the situation.  I trusted that God would bring something good out of this yucky situation because I believe that His word is truth and that is what His word says (Romans 8:28). 

Well, today is Sunday and I went to church with my cousin and my parents this morning.  It was a great service all about God’s strength in our weaknesses.  I prayed for God to shine a light on my weaknesses and to show Himself to be strong in the areas I need it most:  finances, obedience, controlling my emotions, etc.  After service, my dad handed me a $100 bill and told me to pay for my ticket.  WOW!  Wouldn’t you know it?  I didn’t take my eyes off of God because of the anger and disappointment I felt.  I kept my trust in Him and expected good things to come.  I continued to pray for favor and provision.  God is faithful!  He showed me favor in the eyes of my dad and He showed me provision through my parents’ finances. 

Obedience to God and submission to the authority He places in our lives is key.  Without obedience we will never walk in the freedom that God intended for us!  I don’t know about you, but I choose to walk in freedom and in victory and the more I think about it, obedience doesn’t seem so bad…

 

Leave a Reply

