Day 1 – 21 Days of Prayer for Sons

I found this 21 day prayer challenge hosted by the MOB society, (http://www.themobsociety.com/2012/04/21days4sons-schedule-and-subscription-links/) and since I am always looking for more ways to enrich my prayer life, I jumped on board!  Join me in prayer for your sons, daughters, grandkids, etc; just pray!

1 John 5:14 – Father, it is Your will for my sons to love You and walk in Your ways.  I know that out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks; I pray that my sons’ hearts are turned toward You, Lord; they have hidden Your word in their hearts and they will not sin against You.  Their hearts are circumcised; they love You with all of their hearts and all of their souls and all of their minds.   Your praise is continually on their lips, God.  The course of C & B’s lives will follow their hearts desires; I speak in faith over my sons and say that their hearts desire You, Lord.  Your statutes are their delight; they are their counselors.   Thank You for this prayer challenge.  Thank You for the opportunity to shake up my prayer life.  Reveal to me and those joining me in this challenge, new and powerful ways to cover our loved ones in Your word.  Amen.

Prayer Challenge 

 Day 1 – Heart Change:

Insert the name of your loved one(s) to personalize the scriptures below (I suggest reading the whole chapter to help you understand the full meaning of each verse & to give you added wisdom for claiming the verses for your loved ones):

image

  • Matthew 23:26“Pharisees, you are blind! First make the inside of the cup clean and good. Then the outside of the cup will also be clean.”

Prayer:  Lord, C & B are planted in the living water of Your presence; You are Lord of their lives.  They live in reverential worship of You alone; they do not worship idols.  Your Spirit lives within them.  They are dead to sin and alive unto righteousness.  They live in victory because of Your Son, Jesus.  C & B deny the nature of their flesh and plant Your word deep inside their spirits so that they are clean from the inside out.  When people look at them they will see You shining through.  My sons are an example of Your love and Your way, Lord.

  • Ezekial 36:26 – “And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart.”

Prayer:  You have given C & B new hearts; hearts that are responsive to Your voice and Your leading.  They are Your sheep and the voice of a stranger they will not follow.  Your Spirit is within them and they are obedient to You.

  • Isaiah 29:13 – And so the Lord says, “These people say they are mine.  They honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me.”

Prayer:  C & B honor You, God, with their lips and with their hearts.  The meditations of their hearts and the words of their mouths are pleasing in Your sight.  They meditate on Your precepts and Your word is a light to their path and a lamp to their feet.  They lean not on their own understanding, but in all their ways they acknowledge You and You make their paths straight. 

 

  •  Luke 6:45 – “A good person produces good things from the treasury of a good heart, and an evil person produces evil things from the treasury of an evil heart. What you say flows from what is in your heart.”

Prayer:  C & B produce good things from the treasury of their hearts.  They speak life & not death.  The eyes of C & B’s hearts are enlightened; they know the hope to which You have called them.  C & B know that their treasure is in You, Lord, and so their hearts are in Your hands.

  •  Luke 22:42 – “Father, if you are willing, please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.”

Prayer:  God, let C & B understand that even in the darkest times Your light shines for them because they are Your beloved; they are righteous and upright in heart.  Do not let them fall into the trap of offense when things don’t go their way.  Let them trust whole-heartedly in You and Your plan for them (Jeremiah 29:11).  Let them seek Your face and cry out to You for wisdom and understanding; because You will answer them when they call You and You will deliver them and honor them.  Let them cling to Your word and fight the good fight of faith; they walk by faith and not by sight and they are content in all situations.  Let them understand that Your will is for them is to be more like You and to have a closer walk with You.  C & B will know that to grow as Jesus did (Luke 2:52) they must be rid of the impurities of their flesh and they will submit to Your will in this because even when they are in the furnace of life’s trials, You will be with them.  C & B rejoice in hope, they endure in affliction and they persevere in prayer because they can do all things through You, Jesus, for You give them strength.

  •  James 4:8 – “Come close to God, and God will come close to you. Wash your hands, you sinners; purify your hearts, for your loyalty is divided between God and the world.”

Prayer:  C & B draw near to You, God, and You draw near to them.  They repent of their sins and turn from their old ways; they walk in Your ways.  C & B are not double-minded, they are not divided in their loyalty.  They are loyal to You and You alone.  You are their God and they are Your people, Lord.  C & B abide in You and You abide in them God.  Their hearts are pure and You lead them not into temptation.

  • Psalm 51:10 – “Create in me a clean heart, O God.  Renew a loyal spirit within me.”

Prayer:  You have purified C & B of their sins.  Because of Your Son’s sacrifice, my sons are made clean.  Thank You.  Lord, C & B are robed in righteousness that was bought and paid for by Jesus’ precious blood.  Because You see my sons through Jesus’ sacrifice, they are sanctified and their hearts are made clean.  You have restored to them the joy of Your salvation and made them willing to obey You.

  • Ecclesiastes 10:2 – “A wise man’s heart turns him toward his right hand, but a fool’s heart toward his left.”

Prayer:  C & B are wise and their hearts turn them toward Your righteous right hand, Lord.  They are not fools.  They do not despise wisdom.  They seek wisdom from Your word and they find it.  They lay hold of wisdom and they are blessed.  They bind love and faithfulness around their necks and write them on the tablet of their hearts.  C & B do not walk in the way of the world but in Your way, Lord.   

  • Ezekial 14:3-  “Son of man, these men have set up their idols in their hearts and put the stumbling block of their iniquity and guilt before their faces; should I permit Myself to be inquired of at all by them?

Prayer:  C & B will not set up idols in their hearts nor will they put stumbling blocks of iniquity and guilt before their faces.  They have overcome the evil one by the Blood of the Lamb and the Word of their testimony.  C & B delight in the Lord’s commands and follow His precepts with all of their hearts, minds and souls.   

  • Acts 2:37 – “Now when they heard this they were cut to the heart, and they said to Peter and the rest of the apostles, Brethren, what shall we do?

Prayer:  God, let C & B be cut to the heart with the gospel message.  Let them live their lives in awe and thanks to Jesus, for His sacrifice and to You, God, for sending Your only Son to die so that they might live.  Give them eyes to see, ears to hear, and minds to understand the full weight of what Jesus did for them.  May C & B fully understand the height, depth, width and length of Your unfailing ove for them, God.  Let them boldy proclaim Your truth and share Your love with mercy and grace.  Let my sons always love You as they do now; with child-like faith and innocence.

4 thoughts on “Day 1 – 21 Days of Prayer for Sons

  1. Thank you soooo much for taking the time to share this! You’re prayers are wonderfully inspiring! I’m so glad I happened to see your link on the Warrior Prayers FB page, (in a comment you left)! I will be checking in here everyday for some encouragement and help in praying for my 3 boys! And by the way, I love the pictures of your sweet boys! Adorable! Thanks again! Blessings to you!

    • I’m so glad my prayers are an encouragement!! I started this blog to encourage other moms in their walk with God. It makes me so happy to know that I’m helping you. What are your sons names? I will add them (and you) to my prayers! Motherhood is a journey that I believe God has called us to take together. We should be willing to help other moms any way that we can and point each other to the cross along the way. 🙂 I’m happy we can take this journey together.

  2. I’m happy we can take the journey together too! It’s so nice to find encouragement out there, where we otherwise wouldn’t have had the resources. My wonderful boys are Mickey, age 9, Isaiah, 7, & John, 2. I also have a beautiful girl, Savannah, 4! 🙂 I would love for you to pray for our family and I’ll pray for yours also! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

