The Power of our Words

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future,” Jeremiah 29:11.

C and B helped their great grandparents plant herbs and strawberries yesterday. Watching them brought me so much joy. But more than anything, it reminded me of the power of the spoken word.
A little over four years ago, when Connor was in the NICU, my grandma would visit him every day. She would stand over his crib and talk to him about his future. With her hands stretched out over him she spoke hope and life. Grandma told Connor that one day he would work in her garden; she and grandpa would teach him how to grow tomatoes, zucchinis, squash and peppers. Grandma looked past Connor’s dark situation into the bright future she believed he would have; she spoke in faith for her great grandson’s future. I am forever grateful to my grandma. Because of her great love for family and faithfulness to God, the seeds of life and blessings she spoke into my son have come to fruition.

My grandma’s legacy of speaking life and living in faith lives on in my kids. Just as grandma spoke life over Connor when he was an infant, he now speaks life over her. He now stretches his hands out over grandma and speaks the word of God over her, like she did over him. I know that his words will come to pass like grandma’s did. Grandma will not die, but live and declare the works of God. There is hope of a great and prosperous future for grandma. By Jesus’ stripes grandma has been healed.

Leave a Reply

