Raising my White Flag

I was putting away some laundry, totally lost in my own thoughts, when Connor jumped on my bed singing, “We lift the cross, lift it high, lift it high!  We lift the cross, lift it high, lift it high!”  My kids are obsessed with “White Flag”.  On any given day, a passer-by can hear, “Gods not dead!  He’s surely alive!!!!!”, eminating from the Ingalls’ residence.  I LOVE it!  There is nothing sweeter than hearing C & B “sing” God’s praises at the top of their little lungs.  But on this particular day, I had more than a “warm, fuzzy” feeling watching my son worship God with all of his heart.  On this day, I was totally convicted by the words of the song.

The battle rages on, As storm and tempest roar

We cannot win this fight, Inside our rebel hearts

We’re laying down our weapons now
We raise our white flag, We surrender

All to You, All for You
We raise our white flag, The war is over

Love has come, Your love has won
Here on this Holy ground, You made a way for peace

Laying your body down, You took our rightful place

This freedom song, is marching on
We lift the cross

Lift it high, Lift it high

As my spirit stirred, I heard God speak, “Surrender yourself to Me.”  Wow…  Sadly, I thought I had surrendered myself to God.  I thought I was completely His.  But as I let God’s words really sink in, I sensed Him pointing out areas in my life that I had not given over to Him.  If I truly desire my family to know Jesus as their Lord and Savior and to walk in His ways, then I must follow Him with reckless abandon.  I must “lift the cross…lift it high, lift it high…”

God, I choose to live daily, as a new creation in Christ.  I am dead to sin and alive unto righteousness.  I have overcome this world and the nature of my flesh by Your Son’s sacrifice and by speaking Your word into my life.  Help my will to line up with Your will for my life.  Direct my footsteps according to Your word; I have hidden it in my heart so that I will not sin against you.  Lead me not into temptation.  Make the meditations of my heart and the words of my mouth pleasing in Your sight.  I want to be a shining example of Your love and awesome power.  When my friends and family look at me, I want them to see You.  I am Yours, God.  I surrender my all to You.     

Leave a Reply

