My Father God

I just had a really proud mommy moment. Connor was drawing some sunflowers and Blake was playing with Batman while I got lunch ready. Out of nowhere Connor said, “Mom, you know how to spell popcorn? P-o-p-c-o-r-n.” He finished spelling and beamed with pride. I got so excited I wrote a few words on a piece of paper and asked him to find and read the word popcorn; he picked it out of the bunch immediately. I’m so proud of him! He is such a bright, little boy and such a fast learner; he amazes me. This is a huge accomplishment for a 4 year old and I am beginning to really see the fruit of our labor. All the hours spent learning the alphabet, the letter sounds, playing rhyming games and reading. The preschool tuition and prayer these past couple of years; it’s all paid off.

It makes me think about the strides I have made in my walk with God. He must have “proud daddy” moments when I choose to speak life rather than death. When I step out in faith and resist fear and doubt. When I praise him in the storms and look to the sunshine I trust will come. When I choose contentment and thanksgiving in all circumstances and rest in Him and His timing.

My Heavenly Father is teaching me just as I’m teaching my kids. I’m learning the ABC’s of faith, the sound of His voice and the truth of his Word. I’m learning to follow His lead and trust His timing no matter what. Just as Connor persevered in his studies and yielded results I too will persevere in mine and I will reap a harvest when the time is right.

Thank you Lord for your patience and love. Thank you for allowing me to go through the fire so that I will continue to grow in wisdom and stature and favor with you and man. Thank you for never leaving me and always directing my footsteps according to your word. I trust you and love you. I long to hear you call me your good and faithful servant. Your joy and pride in me is such a gift. Thank you for this day. I rejoice in your grace and mercy. Amen!

Leave a Reply

