Peace in the Storm

Money is tight.  We lost all of our free babysitters; thank you cancer for the thousand dollar plus child care bill every month.  On the bright side:  I get to take an extra day off of work each week to hang with my boys and catch up on things at home.  Nick gets to work from home one day a week; the boys are so excited.  My house is a construction zone; the mess, noise and displacement of everything is more than a little annoying.  I’m so ready for my kitchen to be done.On the bright side:  Nick it’s doing a fantastic job (I’m so proud) and it’s going to be beautiful when it’s all said and done.  Bob has been exposed to the flu; his transplant may be pushed back a week or so.  On the bright side:  Bob will have a couple days off of work and a chance to get some extra rest prior to transplant.  Connor has developed a nice, wet cough; my poor baby has to miss school and he can’t visit with his G-Bob or grandma.  On the bright side; he will get plenty of rest and relaxation at home and we won’t have to worry about finding him a ride there and back for the rest of the week.  I took Blake to the ENT for his follow up; he wants to schedule the removal of his tonsils and adenoids ASAP.  Surgery requires an over night stay at Children’s and we should expect a 7 to 10 day recovery.  On the bright side: his speech will improve, he won’t have to deal with sore throats and his breathing will improve; bring on the surgery!

Life is stressful right now and there isn’t much I can do about it.  But luckily I’m not alone.  I have a loving and faithful God to lean on and lean I will.
God can deliver me – in every situation my first response should be: lean on Him and enter His rest.  When I can’t stand against my enemies or problems and I don’t know what to do I need to have my eyes focused on God!  My position in battle is abiding in Jesus and entering God’s rest. I need to wait upon the Lord continually with my eyes on Him, not my troubles. I need to go where He leads not where my flesh leads!! Entering God’s rest comes with opposition but the peace of Jesus operates in the storms of life not in the absence of them!!  I should approach life’s storms like Jesus did. God will never let me down. He will meet all of my needs and He will never leave me! I will choose to say no to worry and shut the enemy up. The word is my weapon. I will use it by speaking it and meditating on it. I will be set free from anxiety and worry!

4 thoughts on “Peace in the Storm

  1. Thank God for His peace in the storm. I am right there with you on the money is tight. It is beyond tight. I feel like I’m in a sinking ship, and trying to remember to remain steadfast in God’s Plan for me, instead of drowning. I must keep my chin up, and so shall you! Blessings to you today.
    xo,
    barb

    • Barb,
      When we are at the end of our rope we should let go and let God catch us. Keep your eyes on God and His promises today and not your problems. He won’t let you drown!! Here are a few scriptures that have helped me lately (I hope they help you too!). I am praying for you! – 1 Peter 5:7, Philippians 4:6-7, Mark 4:19, Matthew 6:34, Matthew 6:31,33, Matthew 6:27, Proverbs 15:15, Psalm 139: 23-24, Psalm 86:7, Deuteronomy 31:6
      Have a great day!
      -Aimie

  2. Pingback: Rest: A Lenten Reflection « An American Point of View

  3. This should be titled “Sunshine in the storm”. Proud of you for looking at the bright side.
    Children recovery VERY fast from tonsil removal. He will do just fine!! Do not give him hot items such as soup… only cold items!

    Love you and pray for you often! Caitlin

Leave a Reply

