Light Bulb

Ah Ha!

“When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me,” 1 Corinthians 13:11.  Let us put childish ways behind us and grow in the wisdom, favor, discipline and love of our Lord.

I was reading a few of the samples of spiritual warfare and intercessory prayer books that I downloaded on my kindle and I came across something interesting that I thought I would share with all of you bloggers out there.  In order to get my point across I will use a parenting analogy (surprise surprise). 

My oldest son is 3 and he is trying his best to be independent.  Most of the struggles that we deal with at home are related to the battle for independence and his need to assert his authority in any given situation.  I want my son to be independent one day and therefore I allow him to complete certain tasks by himself in order to GROW and LEARN.  If my husband and I always did everything for C then he would never gain confidence or skills that he will one day need to leave the nest and start a productive life of his own.  We are all God’s children and he treats as such.  He wants us to GROW and LEARN and be productive members of his kingdom.  In order for us to grow we need to acquire certain skills.  I believe that experience is the best teacher.  If God does not allow us to experience certain heartaches, disappointments, failures, etc. how are we to grow in the way that he has planned?  We can’t. 

So, whenever I find myself begging God for a “quick fix” or an instantaneous miracle I will take a step back and look at the big picture.  I will ask myself, “what is God trying to teach me?” 

Lord, I pray that I have a teachable spirit and that I would be obedient to you and your discipline.  I want to allow you to transform me into the woman you have destined me to be.  God, allow my children to see my willingness and obedience to follow your call and to submit to your will.  Let them model this behavior in their lives as they submit to authorities such as my husband and me, teachers, coaches, and law-makers.  We want to stay in your blessings and in your vision for our lives.  We trust you to never leave or forsake us as we go on this journey called life.  We know that no matter what obstacle we face you are bigger and you are in control.  We place our trust and our hope in you.  We have faith that moves mountains!  Thank you for your never-ending patience and faithfulness.  We love you, Lord and we want to do your work on this earth.  Continue to guide us and teach us.  In Jesus name I pray, amen. 

Leave a Reply

