I am a Mother In Action – Part 1

I am a mother in action.  I will not lie down and hope for the best when it comes to my children and their futures.  I will fight for them; I will call upon the power of Heaven and claim the authority given to me by Jesus Christ.  I have learned how to use the only weapon in the war for my children’s souls:  the word of God

After going through such a struggle to keep my son, Connor, alive I began to see parenting as a war.  Satan does not want my children to grow up with knowledge of God, covered in the blood of the lamb and armed with the truth.  He is the enemy of their souls and he has come to steal, kill and destroy.  He is totally opposed to the family and everything it stands for.  As a mom, I want my children to know God, to become born again Christians and to live under the protection of the blood of the lamb.  God has given everyone tools to live successful, happy, peaceful, wise, protected, blessed lives.  The Bible is full of promises for each and every one of God’s children to stand on.  I believe that my children are my greatest legacy and as such it is my duty as a mother to bring them up in the way that they should go and to constantly fight in the spirit for their lives.  I have put together some scriptures and prayers compiled from books I have read and my own prayer time with God; below is Part 1. 

I pray that this helps you on your journey to becoming a parent in action

  1. Dedicate your children to God on a regular basis; give your children to Him (1 Samuel 1:27-28)

Þ     Speak it:  Tell God that your children are not yours; they are His.  Tell God that you are giving your children to Him to do His work. 

Þ    Let us pray –

“God, thank you for the gift of my children; as your word says, “the fruit of the womb is a reward,” I believe this is true.  My children are a great blessing to me God; thank you!  You are so good to me Lord; I want to be good to you.  I want to bring you good, not harm, all the days of my life.  Because of this, I want to raise godly children, children that will do your work.  I want my children to be a light in this world; to bring people into your kingdom.  I give them to you; use them God.” 

2.    Declare yourself to be in full partnership with God in raising your kids; depend on God to enable you to raise your children properly and he will see to it that your children’s lives are blessed.

Þ     Ask God to make you a better person so that you can be a role model for your children.  As in Luke 2:52 – Ask God to let you increase in wisdom and stature or discipline, and in favor with God and man. 

Þ     Ask God to give you an extra measure of love, compassion, wisdom, courage, strength, energy, patience, and peace.  Tell him that you NEED to be the best person you can be and your husband NEEDS to be the best person he can be in order to be the best parents that you can be.  Tell God that you are not a perfect person, and that you cannot be a perfect parent.  But recognize that HE is the perfect parent.  Tell him that you need guidance in raising your kids.  That without him you will fall short.  You need him to fill in the gaps in your parenting.  You need him to teach you to be the best parent you can be, the parent your children need you to be. 

Þ     Scriptural Reference: 

  • “Give me understanding, that I may keep Your law; yes, I will observe it with my whole heart.” Psalm 119:34
  • “For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives.”  Colossians 1:9
  • “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” Galatians 5:22-23
  • “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.”  Psalm 19:14
  • “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.”  Psalm 119:11

Þ     Let us pray –

“God show me my faults.  Shine a light on the areas in my life that need change.  Give me the tools to change these areas.  Work in me Lord.  Create in me a new heart, a heart that desires to follow you.  Teach me your ways.  Show me how to live a life that is pleasing to you.  I want to be a good role model for my children and for my husband.  I want to walk with you.  I want to know you better.  Fill me up with your spirit God.  Show me how to love my children how you love your children.  God please partner with my husband and me in raising our children.  We are only human; we cannot be the people let alone the parents you have called us to be on our own.  Let your word dwell in us richly Lord producing every good fruit in our lives.  Teach us to plant a seed in our kids that would produce good fruit in their lives.  Guide us in showing our kids your face.  I want our kids to see you in us.  Continue to discipline us so that we may always grow in grace and wisdom Lord.  Teach us to discipline our kids so that they too will continue to grow in grace and wisdom.  Thank you God that we may come boldly before your throne with our requests; we are not worthy of your unfailing love.  Thank you God for your goodness and mercy; please continue to make your face shine upon us, to grant us peace.  Guide us through our journey as parents; love us so that we may love our kids.  Let the meditations of our hearts and the words of our mouths be pleasing in your sight so that our children may also learn to live lives that are pleasing to you.  Help us to raise children that will one day do great things for Your kingdom God; it is all for Your glory God.  Thank you Lord that we remember that.  We love you!  Amen!”

Stay tuned in for Part 2…

Leave a Reply

