I’m a Magnet

I feel like a magnet; a problem magnet.  When things are going wrong in my life those around me seem to radiate toward me with their problems.  I tend to heap them all in one big pile and internalize them; their problems become my problems.  Instead of dealing with my own issues I have a hodge – podge of issues on my plate.  My prayer list has grown so much I have a hard time keeping up.  I feel like a rubber-band that has been stretched so much it is about to break.  I can only handle so much!  Every time a loved one comes to me with a problem I point them toward God, I give them verses to read, I encourage them to pray and I pray for them.  I know that I don’t have to solve these problems on my own and that it is by God’s strength that we will overcome…but come on!  My brain hurts and I find myself just crying randomly.  Like tears are my body’s way of letting the stress out one drop at a time.  I may just spontaneously combust one of these days.  I am still waiting for the clouds to lift and the sun to come out.  I am waiting for a break in the storm.  I know my God will not delay and that his timing is perfect.  I just need a big, glaring reminder sometimes. 

I’d like to have a peaceful existence.  I’d like for the world to seem right at least for a while.  But for now I will wait patiently on the Lord, I will continue to soak in the word, and to pray.  I will let my loved ones lean on me and I will lean on God.  I will be thankful for the blessings I have because they are many and God is so good to me.  I know he will send me word of his unfailing love!  He always does!  I just need to open my ears and eyes a little more these days…

“Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
   for I have put my trust in you.
Show me the way I should go,
   for to you I entrust my life.”

Psalm 143:8

Leave a Reply

