The Toothpaste Lesson

Today is Day 1 of my TMM or Total Mind Makeover.  Remember my goals from yesterday?  I am working on goal #1 today; loving myself more.  To love myself more I need to treat myself better, to treat myself better I need to think more highly of myself; therefore I need to change my thought patterns, hence –> Total Mind Makeover. 

When I woke up this morning I immediately began operating out of my old mind-set and I hopped on the scale and scrutinized every inch of my body in the mirror.  OOPS!  Not a great way to start the day.  So I began to think of ways to get myself out of toxic thought patterns and negative behavior and into the mind of Christ.  Here are my ideas:  1) Get in the word – CHECK!  I read Psalm 139 this morning, I am fearfully and wonderfully made; 2) Watch my words!  I don’t want to plant any more bad seeds in my mind.  I need to guard my tongue.  This is harder than it seems but it is CRUCIAL in every aspect of a positive life and a healthy mind.

Idea #2 brings me to a lesson that my mom taught my sister and me when we were younger:  “The Toothpaste Lesson”.  “The Toothpaste Lesson” was given to my sister and me when we were teenagers and we had some pretty sharp tongues.  We would say things and then say sorry to cover them up.  My mom would always tell us that we could not take back our words; they were always out there and sorry couldn’t always fix the damage we did with them.  But her words to us never really held any water until she showed us one day.  Mom came home from the grocery store with 2 tubes of toothpaste; 1 for me and 1 for Katie.  She made us sit at the kitchen table and squeeze every bit of toothpaste from the tubes and then try to put the paste back in the tube without changing the tube by cutting it open.  Of course we thought we would be able to do it because we knew WAY more than mom; but boy were we wrong.  We squeezed every drop of toothpaste out of those tubes and tried every possible way to put it back in but all we succeeded in doing was making a HUGE mess!  As she watched us struggle to put the toothpaste back into the tube mom explained that our words were like the toothpaste; once we said them they could not be taken back no matter how hard we tried.  

Though my mom did her best to instill this lesson in me about 10 years ago (WOW I FEEL OLD) it is really hitting home now.  Not only do my words impact my thought life and then my words and actions from there resulting in a downward spiral but they also affect the people around me.  My words plant seeds (good or bad) and instead of sticker bushes in my garden of life I would like rose bushes!  So, I WILL guard my mouth and watch my tongue.  After all, in the tongue is the power of life and death and those who love it will eat its fruit.  I would like to eat the fruit of life therefore I will speak life no matter how much effort this takes on my part.  I will be a good example for friends and family to watch their words as well.  I want my kids to grow up following in my GOOD example; that is why Jesus is mine.  

Heavenly Father, let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing in your sight!  Let me speak life over myself and my loved ones.  Show me how to live my life with godly wisdom and grace.  Give me the mind of Christ and the strength to live each day for you.  Amen. 

 As a side note I’d like to brag on my wonderful mom who taught me this lesson so many years ago.  She is the best mom I have ever had the privilege of knowing (besides my grandma).  She did her best by my sister and me and she did one heck of a job if I do say so myself!  She parented with grace, wisdom, and strength beyond her years.  She taught me what it is to be a mother and for that especially I am forever grateful.

4 thoughts on “The Toothpaste Lesson

  1. this is a simple yet powerful demonstration of how our words can affect others (james 3:1-10), thanks for sharing!! hope TMM goes well!

Leave a Reply

